Stiff Arm Trophy

Heisman Projection: 112 ballots

Posted by Kari Chisholm on December 12, 2013 in News.

We've now tracked down 112 ballots, featuring a total of 274 votes.

We're now ready to make the formal call -- the Trophy is going to Jameis Winston.

OK, OK, we're the very last ones to the party. But we've got our mathematical process, and we're going to stick with it. (That's what you pay us for, right? Oh wait...) This is the fewest number of ballots that we've ever had before making our call on the winner.

Winston is going to get approximately 87% of the maximum possible points. (That's lower than our numbers suggest, but our numbers typically overstate the winner's count by 3-5%.) That'll place him in the top echelon of biggest winners of all time -- behind Reggie Bush at 91.77% and Troy Smith at 91.63%, but ahead of Ricky Williams at 85.23%. (No, my friends, OJ Simpson is not the biggest winner ever -- there were just 1200 voters that year.)

We are not, however, prepared to make any sort of formal call as to the order of finish of the rest of the finalists. They are very tightly clustered together. Not much change from yesterday: Tre Mason is in second, Jordan Lynch and AJ McCarron are tied up for third. Andre Williams has slipped a bit into a solid fourth and Johnny Manziel has edged up slightly.

Ballots are coming in very slowly, given the pressure from the Heisman Trust on the voters.

We'll continue to track votes - and hope to get closer to 150 by week's end. Keep those tips rolling in!

For the twelfth year in a row, we're going to attempt to project the outcome of the greatest individual award in sports, the Heisman Trophy. So far, we've been right eleven out of eleven years.

But to do this, we need your help. If you read/see/hear someone identify themselves as an official voter (with or without their vote), post a comment on our voter tips line or send us a note on Twitter (@stiffarmtrophy). If possible, provide a link (or at least tell us where you saw/heard/read it.)

Our latest projection

Last updated: 12/12/2013 5:52 a.m. Pacific. 112 ballots, 274 votes.

J Winston835189260257092.3%
T Mason71814397162722.5%
J Lynch51115315247016.9%
AJ McCarron41411295145716.4%
A Williams31110244138313.8%
J Manziel081018262197.9%

B Petty04610141334.8%
D Carr1337121274.6%
K Carey01345572.0%
B Miller01456481.7%
T Bridgewater00555461.7%
M Mariota01123271.0%
B Sankey01012240.9%
C Hyde01012190.7%
S Skov00222180.6%
A Donald00222160.6%
K Burke01012140.5%
N Marshall01012140.5%
R Hageman00111100.4%
J Matthews0011190.3%
A Robinson0011170.3%

Got questions? Something look funny? Get answers and read about our methodology.

Have you heard an official voter declare their vote? Post your voter tips on

View the complete list of the nearly 800 official Heisman voters that we know about.
Or check out The Big Chart, every single official Heisman vote that we've found this year.

Got questions? Read more about our methodology, and the results from 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012.