Stiff Arm Trophy

Heisman Projection: 123 ballots. Luck gains on RG3. Ball moves up to 4th.

Posted by Kari Chisholm on December 6, 2011 in News.

Good morning, Heisman fans. In this first overnight update, we're up to 122 ballots - with 303 first-second-third votes on those ballots.

Last night's projection, with 103 ballots, had Robert Griffin III at a projected 2476 points beating Andrew Luck's 1030 points - a margin of 1446 points. Now, with just 19 more ballots added, that lead has shrunk to 1255 points. That's still a nice big margin, but the narrowing suggests that our early returns were loaded with lots of excited RG3 supporters.

In addition, Montee Ball has moved into fourth place, slightly edging Tyrann Mathieu.

Stay tuned.

For the tenth year in a row, we're going to attempt to project the outcome of the greatest individual award in sports, the Heisman Trophy. We've been right nine out of nine years.

But to do this, we need your help. If you read/see/hear someone identify themselves as an official voter (with or without their vote), post a comment on our voter tips line, share a note on our Facebook wall, or send us a note on Twitter (@stiffarmtrophy). If possible, provide a link (or at least tell us where you saw/heard/read it.)

Our latest projection

Last updated: 12/6/2011, 5:57 a.m. Pacific. 122 ballots, 303 votes.

R Griffin76168100268238085.6%
A Luck19281966132112540.5%
T Richardson1520155010081629.3%
M Ball31116304735612.8%
T Mathieu2920314432511.7%

M Barkley06511171405.0%
K Moore00444521.9%
R Wilson02135431.5%
L James00222271.0%
B Weeden01234220.8%
C Keenum00222150.5%
C Klein0011150.2%

Got questions? Something look funny? Get answers and read about our methodology.

Have you heard an official voter declare their vote? Post your voter tips on

View the complete list of the 600+ official Heisman voters that we know about.
Or check out The Big Chart, every single official Heisman vote that we've found this year.

Got questions? Read more about our methodology, and the results from 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010.