Stiff Arm Trophy

Heisman Projection: 59 ballots

Posted by Kari Chisholm on December 5, 2011 in News.

We're now up to 59 ballots. Still a long way to go. I've got a full inbox of emails from voters, and a twitter feed that's blowing up. Lots of voters are reporting that it's the toughest choice they've faced in years.

Compared to our initial numbers, Griffin is extending his lead - though that's inflated a bit by the large number of voters who have declared a #1 vote, but not their #2 and #3 vote. We're working on tracking those down from those voters.

The voter deadline is 5 p.m. Eastern today, and finalists will be announced shortly thereafter. Lots of numbers yet to come. Last year, when the outcome was fairly obvious, we had 217 ballots tracked. In 2009, when it was the closest vote ever, we tracked down 313. Expect closer to the latter this year.

For the tenth year in a row, we're going to attempt to project the outcome of the greatest individual award in sports, the Heisman Trophy. We've been right nine out of nine years.

But to do this, we need your help. If you read/see/hear someone identify themselves as an official voter (with or without their vote), post a comment on our voter tips line, share a note on our Facebook wall, or send us a note on Twitter (@stiffarmtrophy). If possible, provide a link (or at least tell us where you saw/heard/read it.)

Our latest projection

Last updated: 12/5/2011, 10:04 a.m. Pacific. 59 ballots, 132 votes.

R Griffin387449132267596.2%
A Luck5147265096034.5%
T Richardson776204166423.9%
T Mathieu1311152032411.7%
M Ball136101530511.0%
M Barkley032581475.3%
R Wilson02135983.5%
K Moore00333752.7%
L James00111461.7%

Got questions? Something look funny? Get answers and read about our methodology.

Have you heard an official voter declare their vote? Post your voter tips on

View the complete list of the 600+ official Heisman voters that we know about.
Or check out The Big Chart, every single official Heisman vote that we've found this year.

Got questions? Read more about our methodology, and the results from 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010.