Stiff Arm Trophy

Week 3 Poll: Mallett moves to #3; Ingram, James, Dalton move up to top 10

Posted on September 23, 2010 in News.

Martinez debuts at #8, Kaepernick debuts at #14; Locker & Keenum gone.

There wasn't much change at the top of the Heisman charts this week - but plenty of activity under the surface. Denard Robinson and Terrelle Pryor remained #1 and #2. Ryan Mallett jumped ahead of Kellen Moore and Andrew Luck into the #3 spot.

Last week's #6 and #7 - Jake Locker and Case Keenum - are no longer in the top 25. Same for last week's #19, Ricky Stanzi.

2009 winner Mark Ingram jumped back into the top 10 at #6. Oregon's LaMichael James continued his steady climb to #7.

Nebraska QB Taylor Martinez debuted on the poll at #9, while Nevada QB Colin Kaepernick debuted at #13. Arizona QB Nick Foles joined the list at #17. Closing out the top 25 was newcomer North Carolina St QB Russell Wilson.

Full details of the poll on the jump...

The 2010 Week 3 Heisman Poll

1Michigan QB Denard Robinson96%651
2Ohio St QB Terrelle Pryor94%642
3Arkansas QB Ryan Mallett91%635
4Boise St QB Kellen Moore90%613
5Stanford QB Andrew Luck83%574
6Alabama RB Mark Ingram82%5813
7Oregon RB LaMichael James57%4211
8Nebraska QB Taylor Martinez50%36--
9TCU QB Andy Dalton49%3412
10Wisconsin RB John Clay49%329
11South Carolina RB Marcus Lattimore40%2815
12Oregon St RB Jacquizz Rodgers39%2514
13Nevada QB Colin Kaepernick36%25--
14Oklahoma RB DeMarco Murray32%2316
15West Virginia RB Noel Devine29%2020
16Florida RB Jeff Demps28%1917
17Arizona QB Nick Foles27%20--
18Oklahoma QB Landry Jones27%208
19Alabama RB Trent Richardson26%1810
20LSU DB Patrick Peterson25%20--
21Alabama QB Greg McElroy25%1723
22Pitt RB Dion Lewis25%1618
23Oklahoma St RB Kendall Hunter21%1622
24Kansas St RB Daniel Thomas20%1621
25NC State QB Russell Wilson18%10--

68 actual Heisman voters from 36 states participated in the week three poll.

Here's the regional breakdown:

rankplayerAtlantic (9)Midwest (9)Northeast (8)South (17)Southwest (14)West (11)
1Michigan QB Denard Robinson100%100%100%88%100%90%
2Ohio St QB Terrelle Pryor88%100%100%88%92%100%
3Arkansas QB Ryan Mallett100%100%75%100%100%72%
4Boise St QB Kellen Moore77%100%100%88%78%100%
5Stanford QB Andrew Luck77%88%87%82%92%72%
6Alabama RB Mark Ingram55%77%87%94%100%81%
7Oregon RB LaMichael James11%55%50%82%57%90%
8Nebraska QB Taylor Martinez33%33%50%58%71%54%
9TCU QB Andy Dalton77%33%25%35%64%63%
10Wisconsin RB John Clay33%88%50%29%50%45%
11South Carolina RB Marcus Lattimore44%22%50%52%35%36%
12Oregon St RB Jacquizz Rodgers44%44%37%17%28%63%
13Nevada QB Colin Kaepernick44%33%0%17%50%72%
14Oklahoma RB DeMarco Murray11%22%50%35%50%27%
15West Virginia RB Noel Devine55%0%50%47%14%9%
16Florida RB Jeff Demps33%22%25%17%42%27%
17Arizona QB Nick Foles22%33%0%35%21%54%
18Oklahoma QB Landry Jones11%22%25%41%28%36%
19Alabama RB Trent Richardson33%22%25%35%7%36%
20LSU DB Patrick Peterson11%0%25%52%28%36%
21Alabama QB Greg McElroy44%33%12%29%14%18%
22Pitt RB Dion Lewis44%33%25%29%0%18%
23Oklahoma St RB Kendall Hunter11%0%12%17%50%36%
24Kansas St RB Daniel Thomas22%0%0%11%64%27%
25NC State QB Russell Wilson44%22%37%0%7%0%

Participating voters included:

Mid-Atlantic: Frank Bodani, Mike Casazza, Doug Doughty, Chuck Landon, Tom Luicci, Susan Lulgjuraj, Dave Morrison, Caulton Tudor, Dave Weekley

Midwest: Andy Baggot, Randy Beard, Mike Carmin, Pete DiPrimio, Don Doxsie, Dave Hackenberg, Sean Keeler, Drew Sharp, Jon Spencer

Northeast: Mark Blaudschun, Desmond Conner, Mike DiMauro, Brian Koonz, C.J. McCarthy, Cory McCartney, Rick McGowan, Brad Riter

South: Sean Baligian, Joe Biddle, Andy Bitter, Olin Buchanan, David Ching, Pat Dooley, Ron Higgins, Joey Johnston, Randy Kennedy, Chris Low, Phillip Marshall, Brett McMurphy, Joshua Parrott, Billy Reed, Jeff Shepard, Jay Tate, Bob Tompkins

Southwest: Greg Archuleta, Jimmy Burch, Sean Callahan, Suzanne Halliburton, Kevin Haskin, Gary Ivins, Harry King, Kevin Kugler, Reid Laymance, Dave Matter, David McCollum, John Rohde, Mike'l Severe, Tom Shatel

West: Mark Anderson, Steve Bisheff, Bob Condotta, Ken Goe, Dan Hinxman, Mike Lewis, Jeff Metcalfe, Kevin Schnepf, George Schroeder, John Tamanaha, Scott Wolf