Stiff Arm Trophy

Sports Illustrated: Cory McCartney: Power positions dominate realistic 2012 preseason Heisman Watch

Quarterbacks and running backs. Those are the positions of power in the Heisman Trophy race, a reign ushered in when Chicago running back Jay Berwanger won the first award in 1935 and Yale quarterback Clint Frank received it two years later. In all, 71 of the 76 winners have been either quarterbacks or running backs, including last year's winner, Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III.

Read original article.