Stiff Arm Trophy

Bleacher Report: BCS NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP: Auburn's Cam Newton & Previous Heisman Winners Stats

College football’s most storied and prestigious trophy awarded to “the most outstanding player in college football” has gone virtually hand in hand with the BCS National Championship game since its inception. There have been a total of nine Heisman Trophy winners to play in the BCS National Championship Game (titled BCS Championship Game from 1998-2006) since the Bowl Championship Series began in 1998. Only two of those players teams (USC's Matt Leinart and Alabama's Mark Ingram) have gone on to win the National Championship. Mark Ingram is the SEC’s only Heisman winner since the BCS began that had the opportunity ...

Read original article.